August, 14

EU finally approves sixth package of sanctions against russian federation

06/03/2022 08:59:22 pm
Total views 178. Views today — 1.

The European Union has adopted the sixth package of sanctions against the russian federation due to russia's invasion of Ukraine. This is reported by Suspilne with reference to the website of the European Union.

"In light of Russia's continuing war of aggression against Ukraine and Belarus' support to it, as well as the reported atrocities committed by Russian armed forces in Ukraine, the Council decided today, on Jube 3, to impose a sixth package of economic and individual sanctions targeting both Russia and Belarus", - the message says.

The EU notes that the current package of economic sanctions is increasing limitations to the Kremlin's ability to finance the war by imposing further economic sanctions.

"We are banning the import of Russian oil into the EU and with this cutting a massive source of revenue for Russia. We are cutting off more of the key Russian banks from the international payment system SWIFT. We are also sanctioning those responsible for the atrocities that took place in Bucha and Mariupol and banning more disinformation actors actively contributing to President Putin's war propaganda", - High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell noted.

As reported, the EU decided to prohibit the purchase, import or transfer of crude oil and certain petroleum products from Russia into the EU. The phasing out of Russian oil will take from 6 months for crude oil to 8 months for other refined petroleum products.

A temporary exception is foreseen for imports of crude oil by pipeline into those EU member states that, due to their geographic situation, suffer from a specific dependence on Russian supplies and have no viable alternative options.

Moreover, Bulgaria and Croatia will also benefit from temporary derogations concerning the import of Russian seaborne crude oil and vacuum gas oil respectively, the message says.

The EU is also extending the existing prohibition on the provision of specialised financial messaging services (SWIFT) to three additional Russian credit institutions - Russia's largest bank Sberbank, Credit Bank of Moscow, and Russian Agricultural Bank - and the Belarusian Bank For Development And Reconstruction.

The EU is suspending the broadcasting activities in the EU of three more Russian state-owned outlets: Rossiya RTR/RTR Planeta, Rossiya 24 / Russia 24 and TV Centre International.

"These structures have been used by the Russian Government as instruments to manipulate information and promote disinformation about the invasion of Ukraine, including propaganda, with the aim to destabilise Russia's neighbouring countries and the EU and its member states", - the EU noted.

In line with the Charter of Fundamental Rights, these measures will not prevent those media outlets and their staff from carrying out activities in the EU other than broadcasting, e.g. research and interviews.

The EU is also expanding the list of persons and entities concerned by export restrictions regarding dual-use goods and technology. Such additions to the list include both Russian and Belarusian entities.

Moreover, the EU will expand the list of goods and technology which may contribute to the technological enhancement of Russia’s defence and security sector. This will include 80 chemicals which can be used to produce chemical weapons.

The EU will also prohibit the provision of accounting, public relations, cloud and consultancy services.

Furthermore, the Council decided to sanction additional individuals and entities: those responsible for the atrocities committed by Russian troops in Bucha and Mariupol, personalities supporting the war, leading businesspersons and family members of listed oligarchs and Kremlin officials, as well as companies in the defence and a financial organisation.

The relevant legal acts will soon be published in the Official Journal, the EU noted.

Let us recall that it became known on June 2 that the ambassadors of the European Union approved the sixth package of anti-Russian sanctions due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine. Russian Patriarch Kirill was excluded from the sanctions list, at the same time, restrictions are being imposed on oligarchs, propagandists and members of their families.

As reported, on May 31, the EU leaders at the European Council summit in Brussels agreed to block most Russian oil imports until the end of 2022 in response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine, having made a temporary exception for the fuel supplied by pipelines.

In addition, the EU representatives agreed to impose sanctions against 80 oligarchs and three TV channels of the Russian Federation, as well as disconnect the Russian Sberbank from the SWIFT payment system.